Need help with my project

Hi I’m an A-level student doing design technology and i just have a few questions i’d like to ask about skateboarding to help with my project and potential ideas.

Question 1) What issues do you have with skateboarding? (Equipment wise)
Question 2) What do you do with your skateboards when you’ve finished with them or when they break?
Question 3) How long would you have a skateboard for until you’d have to replace it?
Question 4) How do you feel about old skateboards that are not in use anymore being recycled and having its components being made into new products? If so what products would you like to see then incorporated into?
Question 5) What do you think could improve about the design aspect of skateboarding? Such as the parks, gear and skateboards.

1. This is a very broad question, do you mean physically, mentally, the skateboarding community? This could be anything.
  2. Give them away to younger kids with shittier boards
  3. Between a week (when I was younger) and 5 years. Please also see Trigger’s only fools and horses clip about his broom on youtube
  4. How can you feel anything but OK about this?!?
  5. Very broad question again. I think a totally random one would be consistent measurement of boards/trucks/wheels using metric system.
2 Likes

Thank you so much, this is incredibly helpful!! sorry if the questions were too vauge, i’ll try to improve them for next time (infact i’ll edit them now)

Question 1) skateboarding is hard on equipment. Decks in particular delaminate, break and lose their ‘pop’
Question 2) I throw my boards away when they wear our. If I change my board before it’s worn out I’ll normally give it to someone.
Question 3) Depends on where it’s ridden. On the street or in concrete skateparks they can break quite quickly. In indoor wooden skateparks with nothing to smash against, a board will last a couple of years.